Patience

You’ve heard about that psychology experiment with the kids and the marshmallows, right? Each kid was given a marshmallow and told that if they waited to eat it until the examiner came back, they would get a second marshmallow. Apparently about 30% of the kids in the experiment waited it out and got their second marshmallow. I believe I am one of the 70% who will eat their marshmallow right now thank you very much.

Last Saturday I bought some plants to start off my fire escape garden. I went to the farmer’s market, carefully avoiding the ten dollar dozen eggs and ten dollar half-pint of homemade ice cream (I’m not made of money!), and selected a basil plant and tomato plant. I repotted them in some plastic dollar-store containers with some great soil I bought at Rose Red & Lavender. They are looking happy and healthy and there is already a baby tomato growing! But, I want it to be a big, real tomato right now. I check it multiple times a day but it’s always about the same size. I just want to eat the most local caprese salad I’ll ever eat. I want to crawl out the bathroom window to the fire escape, pick a tomato, chop off some basil leaves, douse it all in balsamic and feel proud!

Apparently it takes a tomato plant at least 55 days to mature. 55 days! I don’t even know if I can keep it alive for 55 days. Wish me luck.

tomato plant and our neighbor’s pool (makin’ me jealous)

tiny baby tomato!

the basil plant and three of my toes

Leave a Reply

